My current obsession (when I need a distraction from my top secret quilt I'm making for a certain someone) is stash busting! Ever since I got this bug people have offered up loads of scrappy stash pieces. I've got so much fabric now of varyin sizes that for awhile I didn't know what to do with it! Enter the stash buster.

Picture
Disappearing Four Patch (can you see how it works?)

I've got over a thousand dollars worth of "donated" fabric (or released? there are some scary prints out there people...) and as a beginner I've been drawn to patterns that lay everything out for you. The only problem is a lot of those patterns aren't exactly "fat quarter friendly" as they say. The free patterns are usually made by fabric companies wanting to show off their new super cute prints (free pattern = buy this fabric).

Enter the bake sales: jelly rolls (2.5" x WOF), layer cakes (10" x 10"), charms (5" x 5")... am I missing something? Fat quarter samplers (stacks of about 10-20-40 different fat quarters from a particular designer or fabric maker). Individual fat quarters go for anywhere from $2 - $3.25. I think it's a way to finish out a bolt of fabric. But it's also like buying a cookie at a bakery instead of a dozen (or a whole cake!).

A more fitting metaphor might be drug related because as I mentioned in the first blog post... there is something about fabric that cracks me out! Buying a fat quarter or 5 is kind of satisfying retail therapy. Until you get home and you have no plans for it (or them) and it just snuggles up with the other fat quarters on lock down waiting to be released.

So my goal this weekend is to make a quilt top for a kiddo or a nice lap quilt for those iPhone mornings at 6:00am with puppies I can throw over my shoulders when it's just crisp enough to need one. The first stash buster quilt top (Fat Quarter Fiesta) for a certain spirit niece's birthday is done! Here's a picture of that one again:


Comments are closed.